Branding: What I wish I knew then.

Branding is a topic that I’ve been interested in for years. I played bass in a metal band with some of my best friends, and it was a constant struggle getting people to listen to us. How do we get people to listen to us? What can we do to make ourselves stand out? Which social media platforms do we need to be on? These are just a few of the questions we were asking ourselves. PRnewsonline shared an article on the role PR plays in branding, and I wish I knew then what I know now.

 

This article focuses mainly on rebranding with a new name, but the advice they propose can be applied to any new brand as well. The biggest thing that I took away from this article is the idea that branding takes time, and it is important to not rush the process.

 

“There are a thousand moving parts and pieces to refreshing a brand. Many PR practitioners tend to underestimate the time and money it takes to concept, develop, produce and roll it out.”

 

My experience with branding came when my friends and I were just out of high school. We were young and didn’t want to wait for anything. Instead, we pushed new content as soon as we had it, promoted a demo that was not complete, and packed as many concerts into each month as we could. We thought we were putting a lot of work into our effort, but in reality we didn’t have much to offer our target audience.

 

This is another example of why I am happy with my choice to study public relations. There are so many different aspects within the title that can be applied to a number of different fields and projects. If I have the opportunity to play in another band I’m confident we could use my PR knowledge to build a successful brand that successfully reaches our target audience.

 

http://www.prnewsonline.com/subscription/2014/04/28/prs-role-in-the-high-risk-process-of-renaming-a-brand/

